Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit scores and credit improvement

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit scores and credit improvement

Okay, I've been working on my credit for a few years now. I managed to get my credit to where I am finally able to get a few credits, albeit credit cards for bad credit. So far my credit scores are improving but I obviously still a long way to do, so...work in progress.

Here's what has me frustrated and confused: I pay more than the minimum on my credit cards. I even paid two of them down to zero. But when I pay off the balance and have zero debt, my credit score takes a hit. I don't understand how or why paying off my credit cards is having such an adverse and deleterious effect on my credit score, plus according to main page, the FICO Secore version credit scores I need to get other credit cards, buy a house or buy a car is nowhere near the FICO credit score 8 that is displayed on my home page when I log in.

I don't know what to do to raise the other scores. I've reviewed my credit reports, disputed a lot of items and got them removed. Several inquiries have since been deleted. I did file Ch. 7 back in 2012 and I know that's going to come off my credit in two more years, along with a lot of collection debt that accrued while I was in the hospital. My FICO Score 8 is in the lower 600's and I want to buy a house at some point.

I'm not sure what else to do except to keep doing what I've been doing.

Any advice would be welcome and appreciated.

Thanks in advance

5 REPLIES 5
OmarGB9
Community Leader
Super Contributor

Re: Credit scores and credit improvement

Hello and welcome!