Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creditor "validated" debt

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Creditor "validated" debt

Newbie here. I'm in the process of repairing and rebuilding like many of you. I sent a creditor a debt validation letter. The creditor mailed a letter "contract" back to me that did not bear my signature on any page, whatsoever. What is the  next step that I should take? I know that I should send them a second letter requesting a signature, but I just don't know how to word it.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Jnbmom
Credit Mentor

Re: Creditor "validated" debt

Is this account yours??

A signed signature, I would think nowadays everything is electronic for the most part.

EXP 780 EQ 791TU 795
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes this account is actually mines from about 5 years ago
Message 3 of 9
bass_playr
Established Contributor

Are you dealing with the original creditor or a debt collector?  

Validation does not apply to the creditor, only to third party debt collectors.  

Also, an unsigned contract is not sufficient validation IMHO.  Your mileage may vary, but in my mind, anyone can send out a blank contract....that's meaningless.  For example, a blank contract not only does not show that you are attached to an account in any way, but it also does not show anything about the amount that they are claiming you owe.  My three requirements, personally, before I agree to pay anything to a debt collector, are as follows:

1--that they show the debt is mine

2--that they show that they are legally entitled to collect it

3--that the amount they claim I owe is substantiated.

If they cannot do those, I do not pay.  Again, your mileage may vary.  But I've actually seen debt collectors trying to collect from me on accounts that either did not even exist, or that I was not responsible for in the first place.  

Message 4 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable