Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DOFD on Comcast and Credit Protection Asso

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

DOFD on Comcast and Credit Protection Asso

Hello, 

I have been working hard to improve my credit score for the last 4 years now. 

I have paid everything on time and simply waited the 7.5 years until negative items dropped. 

I just checked my Fico score from Transunion on myfico.com and its listed at 706. 

Supposedly the factors hurting my score is that I have a

17% Ratio of your revolving balances to your credit limits

Thats fine since i can bring that down to 0% if i wanted to. Its just a credit card that I use monthly and PIF. 

However, the next negative thing is a Collection that was originally from Comcast and is now Credit Protection Asso. 

Its been on my report since 2005. I was considering just waiting out the 7.5 years until it drops. 

However, this year I am planning on buying a house and wanted to raise my score as high as possible. 

I'm a little confused as to what the DOFD is , and ultimately the SOL. This is what the Transunion report shows

Collection on debt to: Comcast Formerly Adelphia

The collection agency "Crd Prt Asso" was hired to collect a debt of $269 originally owed to "Comcast Formerly Adelphia" on account number "XXXXXXXXXX".

Collection agency Crd Prt Asso
Original balance $269
Current balance $220
Date assigned  Oct 18, 2005
Original lender  Comcast Formerly Adelphia

Account holder Individual
Account descriptions Account information disputed by consumer

I ran an equifax Score power report 3 months ago, and this is what it showed. 

CREDIT PROTECTION 

Agency Address:

PO Box 802068
Dallas, TX 753802068

Date Reported:

06/2007 

Date Assigned:

10/2005 

Creditor Classification:

Creditor Name:

ADELPHIA 

Account Number:

XXXXXXXXX 

Account Owner:

Individual Account. 

Original Amount Owned:

$269 

Date of 1 st Delinquency:

07/2005 

Balance Date:

06/2007 

Balance Owned:

$220 

Last Payment Date:

N/A