cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debt on Report Help

tag
NapoliJ10

Debt on Report Help

I am in need of advice / assistance on my situation.  I'm new to tracking my credit and new to the world of understanding credit.

I've recently taken interest in my credit because my auto loan has been fulfilled and I am in the market for some new credit lines.  Other than my auto loan, the only other information showing on my report is a supposed debt I didn't know I had.  The original creditor is listed as "AT T."  I have since contacted AT&T and have been informed by multiple people in different departments that I do not have any outstanding balance and nothing showing as being sent to a collection agency.  I am not receiving any communication from the collection agency about this debt; the only reason I am aware of it is because I checked my credit report.

I don't know what steps I should take.

Should I call them and ask them for any information regarding proof of the debt?

Should I send a letter requesting such information?

Should I dispute the debt through the credit bureau?

Is there something else I can / should do?

Before I open up a new line of credit I would love to take care of this matter; I just have no idea what to do.

Thanks to any and to all in advance for help!

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Whitneyy
Valued Contributor

Re: Debt on Report Help

Yes, you need to send a DV. 

GOAL - 700 FICO across the board!
Message 2 of 4
dursty87
Established Contributor

@Whitneyy wrote:

Yes, you need to send a DV. 

+1.  This should be done in writing and sent CMRRR.

Message 3 of 4
NapoliJ10