cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Delinquent account paid. Now collection shows on TU?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Delinquent account paid. Now collection shows on TU?

I’m very new to credit management and thought I was doing well building my file but now I find a wrench thrown in the works.

I had two delinquent tuition bills for my university which apparently were sent to a collection agency in September. The agency reps called and left voice mail and also sent me 30 day verification letters. I didn’t respond to the letters nor did I answer their calls. Last week I paid the tuition due directly to student accounts at school and am cleared to register for new classes. I assumed that the school would notify the collection agency that the debt was paid and cleared.

This morning I find that the collection agency has reported the account as an open collection account from September and a balance is outstanding. The balance they report is what I paid directly to school.

Not sure how to address this now. The school still owned the debt (as far as I know). I don’t know who to contact first regarding this situation. I also don’t know what I should be asking them to do.

So my questions:

1. Do I contact student accounts or the collection agency?
2. What do I ask them to do? Delete or update the derogatory to show paid in full?
3. How do I minimize effect on my FICO score? TU vantage on credit karma shows a drop of 89 points from these two derogatories. I will get my TU FICO update from Experian Creditworks in three weeks so not sure what it will show.

😢
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Girlzilla88
Valued Contributor

Re: Delinquent account paid. Now collection shows on TU?