Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dewdrop credit rebuilding log

tag
dddewdrop
Valued Contributor

Dewdrop credit rebuilding log

Following in the footsteps of P-, I decided to do a credit rebuild log.

Just for a little background, I'm 41. I went to a top school and as soon as I graduated from college I tried to start a small business. I partially financed it with credit cards. This was in the early 90s and I was approved for a lot of credit and went into debt to the tune of about 20k. I had amex green, citi, chase, and BofA cards. I burned them all down maxed them out etc...The business never got off the ground.

Like 2 years later I got a good job and proceeded to make 6 figures for over 10 years. With my first big bonus check, I paid off all my credit cards and determined to never have a credit card again......

Fast forward about 20 years. I lost my good job, got another credit card. Maxed out the 1k limit and didnt make any monthly payments for over a year. On top of that I owed almost 6k in back taxes so in 2006 a federal tax lien was filed against me. 

In 2007 I moved back in with my parents and got on a payment plan to pay off my lien and worked low income jobs in the restaurant business. By 2008 I had paid off my lien in an instalment plan. By 2010 I had settled with my credit card for less than the full amount. That brings us to this Feb.

In Feb, I found this site and began my credit rebuilding journey.