Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discover IT Secured (Pre-approved)

tag
MichWolverines1983
Valued Member

Discover IT Secured (Pre-approved)

So, as some may already know, I'm still new to building credit and to these forums. I have been pre-approved for the Discover IT Secured Card and plan on opening that account within a week or so. I do have a few questions;

1. The minimum deposit is $200 but I obviously want a higher credit limit than $200. My Capital One Secured is $209 and I wasn't aware of adding more to my deposit within the first thirty-five days to increase my credit limit. Does the same apply to Discover IT Secured? How long after submitting my application and being approved to I have to keep adding to my deposit?

2. I've been reading the sweet spot may be $1,500 so when I graduate I will get a credit increase that may be higher than what the secured card may allow?

3. I've read that Discover may request more info about income verification like previous years taxes. Unfortunately, my income has been random and very low for the previous two years and have only now started to increase. What effect will this have on my application and approval odds?

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Discover IT Secured (Pre-approved)

1. You can increase your Discover secured limit anytime you would like up to $2500. That is their limit cap on their secured cards. Over 8 months I started with $300. Increased limit to $700, then $1500, and finally $2500 all within 4 months of account opening. I graduated and got an increase of $200 making my total limit $2700.