cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Equifax -124 Point Drop

tag
CBE86

Equifax -124 Point Drop

A Downward Turn In My Credit Building Journey..

I'm confused by my recent check of my Equifax Credit Report.

I have 1 old Charge Off from 5 years ago. The Only Negative. 

My score was low for awhile and I've built it back up since then into the 700's.

I had a credit card collection I paid for delete , I had a medical bill I negotiated myself for them to take off. I was lucky in those aspects and I felt a strong urge to continue to build from there. 

Last Year in March , I got a secured card through Discover with $1000 deposit  , which I always pay in full each month. I graduated in October with a CL of $1800 , I use under 10% utilization always! (Even though they want me to use a lot more) 

I recently (1 yr after getting Discover) decided to apply for a second card to help grow a better payment history. Show I can manage 2 credit cards responsibly. I got an Apple Card CL $3000. 

I understand my score could drop a little with a new account and hard inquiry but I'd never imagine such a significant drop as 124 points overnight and for really at this point no reason I can find. 

So far Equifax has not updated with the New Apple Card account yet.
The only new difference from last month is I paid my Discover down from 3% usage to 2% usage. 

It seems to me a point drop of that magnitude would entail some recent serious negatives like a series of missed payments , closed accounts, charge offs etc etc. Recent Negative Credit behavior.. 

I simply don't know. 

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Btw, should I start using at least  30% on each of my cards?
Is my current problem I'm keeping them under 10% ? Because I can't find anything telling me under 10% is negative behavior.. 

Thanks for taking the time reading! 

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
dragontears
Senior Contributor

Re: Equifax -124 Point Drop