cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Equifax Willfully Violating FCRA, Advise? Executive Contact Fax or Email? Please?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Equifax Willfully Violating FCRA, Advise? Executive Contact Fax or Email? Please?

Hello credit score builders and credit card lovers. I am new to your family and could really use some help!!!

Anyway, here is my issue:

On December 18, 2016, I faxed Equifax a copy my King County Sherrif's Office Incident Report which a report taken by a deputy of the Sherrif's office. Since I live in unicorporated King County, we have a county sherrifs office, not a city police department.

On December 22, 2016, I called Equifax Fraud Department and informed them that in accordance with the FCRA, Equifax has 4 business days to block information that resulted from identity theft from appearing on my credit report since they received a police report from me. The Equifax Supervisor I spoke to, Daniel Crawford (Employee ID 372520), based out of Manila Phillipines, informed me I sent them an "Incident Report" but am required to send them a "Police Report". He was aware of the FCRA requirement to remove identity theft accounts within 4 business days and said that until I sent him a police report, Equifax will not be removing any identity theft accounts from my credit file. I explain to him that I live in a unincorporated county, we have a sherrif's office and not a police force. He told me the report must say "King County Police Report" and it doesn't. I told him there is no such thing as "King County Police"... After a lot of arguing, he refused to remove the accounts that resulted from identity theft.

On December 22, 2016, I faxed Equifax a cover letter, a FTC identity theft report and a King County Sherrifs Office Incident Report (because that is equivalent to a police report). 

In my opinion, Equifax is in willfull violation of the Fair Credit Reporting Act.