Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fixing First Missed Payment

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Fixing First Missed Payment

Hi everyone, first timer here. I'm a medical student with a ton of debt who has worked super hard to build good credit. My citibank credit card payment was due on December 1st 2019, but I got hit with a terrible 24hr bug and lost a dear patient in the same day. My husband and family were so busy supporting me that this one payment slipped through the cracks until the morning of Dec 31st when I went to make all my payments again. I was hysterical when it showed I was 31 days past due on a $250 charge and was on the phone with citi for hours; retraumatized all over again from that day. They were wonderful and forgave the late fee, but I am SO worried about having that missed payment on my credit report and in my credit history. I have never missed a payment before. We have been saving for a house and this could really screw us since I have better credit than my partner. Is there anything I can do??? I am so upset with myself.

2 REPLIES 2
Brian_Earl_Spilner
Credit Mentor

Re: Fixing First Missed Payment

If they won't remove the late payment from the bureaus, you can call the executive office and/or write a goodwill letter to them. If that doesn't work, keep hammering away with more calls and letters. There are a lot of good letter templates here if you search for them.

Message 2 of 3
FireMedic1
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

Re: Fixing First Missed Payment

Welcome @Anonymous The GW Saturation thread has many ways to go about it. https://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Rebuilding-Your-Credit/The-Saturation-Technique-Best-GW-adjustment-odds/td-p/4727098