cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

From Homeless ---------> to Alliant & 1st unsecured card. Stuck & need help, please.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

From Homeless ---------> to Alliant & 1st unsecured card. Stuck & need help, please.

I've been technically homeless on and off for many years. Started community college, and had one apartment. After the lease ended, I focused on education and saving money. I am now on solid ground and working to clean up credit. I studied this board from homeless shelters and public libraries, and dreamed about "some day". Well, with dreaming, discipline, and planning that day arrived 3 months ago.  Since then,

1.  I obtained credit report and paid for FICO. 

2.  Opened an account with Alliant. Waiting for deposit paperwork to arrive.

3.  Got an UNsecured card from Capital One with a $300 limit.

There isn't much on my credit report. Thing is, there are some things on there that simply are not mine. 

For example, I resolved a collection with Portland General Electric (less than $200), by starting new service with them and paying the old bill in full. They removed it from my credit report in 3 days. Then I noticed another Portland General Electric collection for $600 was still on my credit report. I talked to someone from PGE corporate, and she confirmed that I have not had any service other than the two accounts. (The old one that I resolved and my new service)

I have NOT contacted any credit collection agency. I learned from this board to KEEP AWAY from those people. Thus far, I have only been calling the original creditors directly.

So...what do I do next? I don't want to open Pandora's Box with Bonneville. Portland General said they can't pull something from my credit report that they didn't put on there, and they are happy to provide documentation stating I have only had two accounts with them. At this time both are in good standing.