cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GW to JCP gets me a dispute on my CR

tag
Shhh

GW to JCP gets me a dispute on my CR

Hi I'm new to MyFico message boards. I have been reading here for weeks and decided to send a GW letter to JCP asking them to delete a 30d late that I had last June. The JCP response was to put a new remark on my credit file "Account information disputed by consumer, meets FCRA requirements"  the GW letter said nothing about disputing just an explanation of the circumstances of why I was late and would they consider removing the 30d late from my CR. Now my EQ score has dropped 20pts and the only change is the remarks.

Is this common? How long will this stay on my CR?  I'm wondering if I should call JCP. This is my first attempt to fix anything on my report and am feeling pretty discouraged.

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
zerobacan
Established Contributor

Re: GW to JCP gets me a dispute on my CR

I beleive that is a temporary status, and it make your score dropp because the entire account and all its history is not being calculated into the score. so as soon as the have a response they will change the status back with the updates.

also you are in the wrong forum section Smiley Happy

you will be moved in 5, 4, 3, 2, 1.......

Amex PRG NPSL, Amex Delta 2k (AU) Discover iT 5k, BOFA Siggy $5k, BOFA AlaskaAir Siggy 5k, BBVA Compass $5k! Macy's $4.5k, C1 $2.5, SFCU $2.5k, SFCU LOC $2k, Paypal SmartC $4k, Sam's 5.5k Victoria Secret $2k, Kay's $1.7k.,76/Citi $1.5k Amazon $5k, Walmart Disco $3k JC Penny $4k, C1 $2.5, BBRZ 700.
Starting:TU:536 EXP:561 : EQ:552 Current:TU:680 Walmart (2-15-14)EXP:712 FICO!! (12-4-13):EQ:622 (FICO 2-6-14) Uti 27% Goal: 720 By 12-13.
Message 2 of 12
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Looks like the correct forum to me.

A GW is NOT a dispute though It is very common for a creditor to make this error.