Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting Late Payment Removed From Student Loan

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Getting Late Payment Removed From Student Loan

Found this site and thought I asked.

I had a student loan from my university (who used a third party, University Accounting Service).  I missed a payment on Jan 08 by total mistake (was not organized yet as I am now) and was only one month away from paying off the loan in full (and very early.  I graduated in Aug 06.)

So my question is, is it possible to get this late payment removed, despite that the account is now paid in full?  It's the only late payment on my entire credit report and I fear it will put a serious ding on my prospects of getting a home in the next 3 years.

As for the rest of my credit, started the snowball earlier this year and it's coming along great.  CCs, and store cards (interest free Best Buy and Amazon) along with my car loan will all be paid off by March of next year.   

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
Duncanrr
Valued Contributor

Re: Getting Late Payment Removed From Student Loan

Yes.  Send them a goodwill letter asking them to remove the negative entry.  Search this site for GW or goodwill and you find numerous examples.  You may also  try calling them directly and see how that goes.

Starting Score: EQ 551 TU 548 CK 607on 6/8/12, EX 542(AMEX pull 3/4/12)
Current Score: EQ 808 TU --- EX --- CK 804(FAKO-EX 821, EQ 823, TU 803)
Goal Score: 750

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 2 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

I tried calling and they told me they can't.  It was some lady from the bursar's office and probably not a supervisor.  

Who do I direct the letter to?  To a specific person, the bursar's office?   

Message 3 of 16
JohnPTEX
Frequent Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

I tried calling and they told me they can't.  It was some lady from the bursar's office and probably not a supervisor.  

Who do I direct the letter to?  To a specific person, the bursar's office?