Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help! Student with a $100 Charge-Off

tag
hbbc

Help! Student with a $100 Charge-Off

Hey everyone.

I'm new to the forum, and have spent some time researching about how charge-offs work, but still don't know everything about how it all works. Here's my story:

In 2016, I started my first semester at college. I had a debit card through Bank of America, and didn't know much about actual credit cards. So after a few months, I decided to apply for Bank of America's Secured Credit Card. I figured it would be a good way to start building some credit. At the time, I was a student with no job, but I had some money saved up. I put down the required $300 security deposit and started using the card. I tried not to use it too often, and paid all the monthly payments on time for the first 5 months.

Then the next semester came around. I was going to take up a job on campus so I would have guaranteed money to make they payments, but I did not end up doing so. As a result, I missed the next 5 payments. I wasn't aware of the negative consequences at the time and possibility of charge-offs, I just thought they would charge a late fee each month and I'd pay it all off with a summer job.

May came around, and I discovered that my account had been closed. Since I had put down that initial security deposit, I thought that was that and ignored it. Keep in mind, my billing address was at home and I was at school, so I did not know if I was getting any sort of documentation from Bank of America. Late in the summer, I signed up for Credit Karma, and was surprised to see a charge-off on the secured credit card. The amount charged off is a little over $100, which I assume is the accumulation of late payment fees on the account over those 5 months.