Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help getting Comcast or ERC of my credit report

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help getting Comcast or ERC of my credit report

Hi,  I'm fairly new in the USA and have not had any credit here.

My back story made short:

I have moved around the country because of my job.  I just recently downloaded creditkarma to check my credit score and to see what kind of options I have to apply for a credit card.  To my surprise, I had a degratory (I think this was the word they used) mark on it from an old Comcast bill.

#1 I can never remember having had a Comcast subscription.

#2 I have never lived at the address that the bill was reported from.

I tried to dispute this transaction but to be able to report it as fraud I would have to come up with proof that I had never lived there. this was back in 2015. I only keep my receipts and for 12 months. and I did not have a letter or anything that proved that I never lived at that address.

Since I'm not used to the USA credit system which is ass-backward compared to what I'm used to. I paid the $108 I supposedly owed, thinking this would take it off my report. 

Come to find out it has not been removed.

What can I do to get them to remove it?

reading on the forum here, I have heard about the GoodWill letters, but I have no idea how to write one.

am I supposed to send it to Comcast or ERC?

Since I have already paid it, I don't have that Negotiation leverage, is there something else I can do/use?

Can anyone please advice me on what to do, as I would like to start building credit and getting this bad credit off my report since I have no Idea what it was.

If you have a GoodWill letter you have had success with and is from sort of the same situation I'm in, would you mind sharing how you wrote it?

Thank you for any and all helpful inputs in advanced.

Message 1 of 22
21 REPLIES 21
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Help getting Comcast or ERC of my credit report