cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hopefully some success with Credit Management LP...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hopefully some success with Credit Management LP...

LONG POST, SORRY.  I LIKE TO TYPE.  LOL  short version - collection reported after paying off original company who stated there were no collections on the account, Credit Management LP confirmed this info and stated they will delete the collection from my reports

Hello! This is my first time posting here but I have been reading things here for a couple months.  Started paying attention to my credit at the beginning of this year.  Before then I really knew nothing about how utilization or inquiries, etc affect scores and I was really excited to try to build up a good profile.  I have two very subprime cards (Credit One and First Premier) which I honestly needed at the time but really didn't realize that I probably could have done better so I'm looking to replace these two with better cards before they renew annual fees later this year.  So anyway I just used our tax refund to pay down our utilization significantly and also paid off a power bill of mine that the company assured me was not in collections so I felt great about paying it off and was patiently waiting for new balances to update on my credit reports and see my score boost.  Whelp.  Then I get an alert two days ago that a collections account reported for that power bill and was not only showing a brand new date which didn't even match up to my actual bill with them but also was showing as unpaid.  FICO dropped 49 points.  I cried, won't lie.  I called the power company and they again assured me nothing was in collections and I had no balance with them.  It was after hours for the collection agency (Credit Management LP) so I submitted a dispute with Experian that night which at that time was the only bureau showing the collection.  Then today I see the collection on my Equifax and Transunion.  About an hour ag