cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long does it take for a paid off judgement to drop from your credit?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How long does it take for a paid off judgement to drop from your credit?

Hi I am new to this so please forgive any mistakes.

When I turned 18 I did some pretty stupid things. I am now 26 and have spent the last two years paying for those mistakes, for example I had to pay over 1300 dollars for a credit card that originally had a balance of 200, this is one of the five judgements that I have mangaged to pay off over the last two years in addition to other old accounts.  My question is: How long after a judgement is paid off does it take for it to fall off your credit report?  I was under the impression that it was 10 years but I just looked at the SOL for South Dakota and was shocked to find that it is now 20 years! Does the SOL only apply to judgements that aren't paid off? If it really is 20 years are these going to haunt me for the rest of my life? Is this going to make it so that I can't get a house until I turn 45? Does it matter if I no longer live in South Dakota? I've heard that the laws apply to you in whichever state you live in, however the judgements are all in South Dakota.HELP!!!

Please note that also in the last two years I've gotten several credit cards to start building credit, they are working. My score has gone from 507 (in April of '09) to 647 (as of November '10) Will the positive outweigh the negative?

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

Re: How long does it take for a paid off judgement to drop from your credit?

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi I am new to this so please forgive any mistakes.