Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How would you handle this collection call

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How would you handle this collection call

I received this telephone call both at my office and on my cell phone.

Hell MY Name

My name is Mr. XXX .  I am a fraud investigator for attorney XXX.  There is a pending case attached to your social and I wanted to brief you about the details before I had to render a decision against you.  Your case # is XXX. Please give me a call back at (local telephone number)

How do I find out what this is regarding  without calling this individual back? 

If my only option is to call him back, what should I NOT say on the phone?

Thanks for any info,  I rattled me when I first heard the  it, but as I listen to it ti appears to be designed to shake one into response. (Its working pretty well, actually)

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: How would you handle this collection call

Do you have caller ID? There's a website at whocalled.us where you can plug in the phone number and find out the name of the company.

Still, the only way to really find out what they want is to call them. If it were me, here's what I would do:

1) I would be recording the phone call when I called them.

2) I would make sure they have my correct address and telephone number. (That way they can't use the "attempting to locate contact information" ruse to call other people about this.)

3) I would politely refuse to give them any information other than my correct address and telephone number.

4) I would get as much information as possible about the debt they are attempting to collect -- at the very least, the name of the creditor and the amount they are claiming is owed.

5) I would ask them to send me that information in writing and I would ask them to make all future contact by mail rather than by phone.