cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it better to close a credit card which has late payments or keep it active?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is it better to close a credit card which has late payments or keep it active?

I realize my Topic Title is a bit confusing so I'll try to explain.  I have been rebuilding my credit for the last 12 months and have done fairly well (closed on my 1st home in August!).  Over this time, I have opened some new credit cards (see below) but my oldest cards have a couple late payments from 2015.

From a FICO standpoint, is it best to keep these old cards active since the late payments are approaching 3 years old or would it be better to just close the cards?  Closing the cards would lower my available credit a small amount and would also significantly affect the AAoA.  Here are my accounts:

Cards with Negative Information (all currently have a $0 balance and no negative information aside from what is below)

Capital One - $2000 limit (opened July 2008) - (30 Day late in Oct 2015)

Kay Jewelers - $1200 limit (opened July 2016) - (30 Day late in Sep 2016 and Dec 2016)

Continental Finance - $750 limit (opened Aug 2007) - (30 Day late in Jan 2015, Oct 2015)

Tires Plus Credit Card - $1200 limit (opened Mar 2014) - (30 Day late Sep 2014, Dec 2014, 60 Day late in Nov 2015)

Cards with NO Negative Information

NFCU CashRewards - $24,000 limit (opened May 2017) - Never late - $0 Balance

NFCU GoRewards - $10,300 limit (opened January 2018) - Brand new card

Wells Fargo Credit Card - $2,000 limit (opened May 2017) - Never late - $0 Balance