cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is my AU status harming my credit score?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is my AU status harming my credit score?

Hi. Forum newbie here. 

I have been working on improving my credit score in preparation of purchasing a home. We hope to meet with a broker in the next three months. My current scores: EX 632 / EQ 594 / TU 603

After paying off my CCs and getting old collections deleted, my score just doesn't seem to be improving as fast as I hoped it would. Right now, I have 4 CCs currently at $0 balance:

AMEX - $1,000 CL

Capital One Platinum - $750 CL

Capital One Quicksilver - $1,500

Credit One - $300 CL

(I usually keep under 30% UTL on these accounts, but have 60d lates on each from 9 months ago)

I am an AU on my mother's CC:

CL: $9,450

UTL: $6,288 / 67%

UTL on this card is usually maintained between 50-70%. This CC is 2y older than my CCs (9y); however, not older than my oldest student loans. My youngest student loan account is only 10m old, my oldest is 11y. 

Considering UTL and AAoA, is it beneficial for me to remove myself as an AU on this CC? 

When it comes to UTL, does only the percentage matter? Or does the $ value of the available credit also factor in? 

If you have knowledge or experience, I will appreciate your share. Thanks!

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Jnbmom
Credit Mentor

Re: Is my AU status harming my credit score?

Yes that high utilization is hurting you. 

Also all your card reporting 0 balance will hurt too. Let one card report a small balance.

EXP 780 EQ 791TU 795
Message 2 of 13
Ficoproblems247
Valued Contributor

@Jnbmom wrote:

Also all your card reporting 0 balance will hurt too. Let one card report a small balance.