Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Judgment Deleted, Score goes down 9pts?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Judgment Deleted, Score goes down 9pts?

So through a lot of work I got a big judgment deleted from my EX report. It was for $2448, I have one more that I am trying to get deleted for $802. I was really excited about it and decided to get my fico score. I get it and my score went down 9 pts!! WHat? I for sure thought it was going to go up. No new inquiries since the last time I got my score and no new accounts so I thought it was going to go way up, but no luck. Seems to be the story of my life...
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Judgment Deleted, Score goes down 9pts?

Cheer up! You score went down most likely (i'm not an expert here) for lass credit history on your report. however, the positive effect of one less public record over the next 6 months is going to greatly outweight the negative of shorter history.

Also, during manual reviews, any mortgage lender would do one, it will look sooo muuuuch better. 

Message 2 of 11
lafishy
Regular Contributor

I'm no expert, but I've read that sometimes you're "rebucketed" if you make improvements to your report. Since FICO scores are partly based on where you stand relative to other consumers, the better you get, the better the people you're scored against are. So, you might have been rebucketed.

On a selfish note, can you talk about how you got your judgement deleted?

TU Fako 640 (6/4/08), EXP FICO 605 (6/11/08), TU FICO 624 (7/3/08), EQ FICO 663 (6/9/08), EQ FICO 669 (8/18/08), EXP FICO 668 (8/18/08), TU FICO 663 (9/22/08),
EQ FICO 669 (10/6/08), EXP FICO 671 (10/6/08), TU FICO 714 (10/21/08)**TU FICO 3/27/09 736, EQ FICO 3/27/09 712**
Message 3 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

A judgment wouldn't constitute "history" ... public records, AFAIK, don't read that way.