Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Late Payments

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Late Payments

Hi,

I recently started learning about credit scoring cause I want to buy a home. However I have one recent late payment in Jan, and a handful of late payments over the course of the last year. Not cause I could not pay them, but the fact of the matter is I just did not really understand the rules of how credit works, I was horrible with money management, and just didn't know that it could affect you so bad when seeking a loan. I have only had credit cards for a few years actually. 4 1/2 years in total. 

Now, I have a clear understanding of how things work, I have been doing a ton of credit education and I have paid down all my credit cards, but I know these late payments are really hurting me. So here is my big question...... If I keep my credit utilization low, at zero, does this still report to the 3 agencies as paid on time month to month, or do I litereally need to keep a tiny balance, and then just pay those small balances on time to get credit for on time payments? 

Also, I know that late payments can stay on your report for 7 years, but how long do they actually have a heavy impact on your score? I understand that they have less of a impact as time passes, but what is this time frame? 

Once I can figure this out and can work on getting my on time payments back into the 98%-99% over the course of the next year or two. 

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
FireMedic1
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

Re: Late Payments

If you could list the lates and who they are with. Maybe. Just maybe it might be a GW success from past posts where members were successful with getting them removed. Otherwise here's a chart CGID used before on how lates affect scores. YMMV.

fico8 lates versus time.png

Message 2 of 3
Remedios
Credit Mentor

Re: Late Payments

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi,