Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Law Office vs Creditor

tag
BigGoalsBy40

Law Office vs Creditor

HI all! 

I'm brand new here and new as of 1/2023 to re-building my credit. I am trying my absolute best to clean up any baddies and I've had good payment history on ALL open accounts for 12 months now. I am hoping to buy a new car this summer and a home early next year. I'm a noob at all of this. 

As of 1/3/23, my scores were as follows (not horrible - I've been in a much worse spot, but not the best): Equi 603 (jumped to 626 this week), Trans 614 (up to 617 now), Exp 629 (pulled from myfico). I'm waiting for my next update, but they should jump significantly as I paid off 11 medical collections and have nothing showing in collections now. 

All of that said, my questions/situations are as follows: 
1. I had a charge off on a Crate & Barrel card with the delinquency date of 2/2019. It was sold to LVNV last year in August and I got my last offer to pay 12/30/22. I called on 1/3/23 and they said that C&B called back and asked for the debt back. LVNV removed it from my credit, and now I'm waiting to hear from either C&B, Syncrony, or a collection agency/lawyer. If I am contacted by a collection agency, should I pay it at this point? I'm 2 years away from them being able to sue me. BUT if I'm contacted by a lawfirm, I HAVE to pay it, correct? (it's currently not showing on any report)
2. For any other charge offs I have, 2 part question: 1 - do they fall off/get removed entirely after 7 years? (I just don't want to see them anymore lol). 2 - Is it from the FIRST delinquent payment or the most recent delinquency?

Thanks in advance for any help, tips, tricks, etc. 

7 REPLIES 7
FireMedic1
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

Re: Law Office vs Creditor

Welcome @BigGoalsBy40