Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for some Advice! Credit Rebuilding for Young Adult

tag
CollegeStudent2
Established Member

Looking for some Advice! Credit Rebuilding for Young Adult

Im a college student. Currently looking to repair my credit. 

2 Collections, currently in the midst of disputing

As far as Credit inquiries, how can I get if not all, some removed? 

There were 2 credit cards that closed and were charged off, can these be disputed? 

Last thing, my Auto Loan updated today (as of Nov 1st) stating i have a late payment from MAY of this year, is this usual? 

Appreciate any extra tips you may have for me. Currently a 510 Fico. Need some good rebuilding secured cards as well.

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Girlzilla88
Valued Contributor

Re: Looking for some Advice! Credit Rebuilding for Young Adult

First off Congrats on wanting to take the right steps early I really wish I did this or even thought about this when I was in College.....the Collections will DEFINITELY improve your score a big chunk once removed...Inquiries will have a less affect over time so don't sweat those once it hits one year it will be less but 2 year mark they will be removed so I wouldn't worry about those ....Why were the CC's removed/charged off?!     It is possible to dispute them but more info would help as to which way would be better for those....   I have seen late's show up later BUT if you believe it wasn't late payment in April (that would report in May) then you could see about disputing that too as late payments stay I believe 7 years so that would be worth looking into.   Was it a 30 day, 60 day or more?!

If you have a CU I would see about doing a small secured loan or maybe a secured card with your bank to start you out just be sure you can graduate it at the year mark that will help you to build faster too Smiley Very Happy      Do you have any current open Cards?!    Or just your Car and the negatives you mentioned?