Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lost

tag
radfam
Frequent Contributor

Lost

Newbie here.  I feel so lost in how to recover and rebuild my credit.  I am an educated person, but a lot of what needs to be done doesn't make sense to me.  I don't know where to start on cleaning up my credit report.  I feel like I've been researching and researching but there is nothing consistent on how to repair my own credit.  I pulled my annual free reports in March and haven't had a clue where to begin.  Today, I pulled my scores from CCT and CK, so I have somewhat of a baseline (I think).  I know CK is Fako.  I can't tell with CCT based on mix review on this forum.  Spouse and I want to purchase a home by next summer, so that is the goal.  I guess my biggest question is, what do I do first?  Do I need to make the big 3 match with what is reported?  Should I focus on one report at a time? 

Factors that hurt my credit:  Late payment history (14 accounts), 1 Collection ($200 that opened in July 2013), high student loan debt ($109k, currently on IBR), previous CO on auto loan ($598).   

The obvious, get myself set up so late payements don't happen.  We currently rent and that payment is never late but also doesn't report in to credit bureaus.  I just don't know what to do next.  Any advice is appreciated.

Fico 8 as of 03/09/2023:

Message 1 of 34
33 REPLIES 33
radfam
Frequent Contributor

Re: Lost

Adding, I have one unsecured CC through Cap1.  $300 limit, currently on restricted as I had too many late payments.  $0 balance since 9/2016 but cannot use.

Fico 8 as of 03/09/2023:

Message 2 of 34
Anonymous
Not applicable

Triple Whammy of Credit Rebuilding

(must do all 3)

1. Get new credit accounts with non-predatory banks and show responsible usage by paying on time and not carrying balances (except for AZEO)
  2. Work on removing negative accounts by negotiating with banks and collection agencies to pay off balances and delete tradelines or goodwill lates