Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Medical Bill on Credit Report ? Advice needed

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Medical Bill on Credit Report ? Advice needed

Hello, 

I have been working on my credit score for the past 18 months and have went from 520 to 670 over that time period. I removed my student loans from default, paid off a defaulted car loan, signed up for 3 credit cards, had my husband add me as an autorized user on all of his cards, and purchased a new car with a cosigner in that time period. 

Now my problem is, I have one negative balance holding my score back from really jumping up. It is a Medical bill from June of 2014 for $750 dollars. I have never received any documents from the credit agency that holds this debt and I have never tried to contact them. 

Should I reach out and try to do a pay to delete, dispute the charge, or just wait until it falls off on its own after 7 years which would be next June? Any advice is appreciated. 

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Medical Bill on Credit Report ? Advice needed

Medical collections are some of the easiest to get removed from your CRs, here are the steps that you should follow to address them:

1. Call the OC and see if insurance can be billed, (or-rebilled), collections ultimately paid by insurance get removed per new rules that came from CRAs settlement with 22 state AGs. If not then
2. see if you qualify for Charity Care, if not then
3. ask that they recall the collection in exchange for full payment
4. Send the reporting CA a PFD offer
5. Google the HIPAA Process and contact its creator for help, this process cannot be discussed in any forum of myFico.

Message 2 of 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Medical Bill on Credit Report ? Advice needed

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello,