Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Rebuilding Journey - The long road to a car loan and rewards credit card

tag
wonderandawe
Valued Member

My Rebuilding Journey - The long road to a car loan and rewards credit card

I've been rebuilding since May 2012, when I tried and failed to secure a car loan. At the time I had no credit cards, three paid on time student loans, and three paid collections ($18, $112, $127). From the attempted car loan, I had four inquiries on my credit report.

My first step was the apply for a Capital One secure card. I did no research about what card to get, thus why I got a Capital One (I knew Capital One gave credit to rebuilders). I put a $500 deposit on the card and ended up with a credit limit of 651.

Since my collections were so small, someone suggested a few months later that I write letters to get them removed from my credit report. I sent registered debt validations letters to all three collection agencies. One came back validated (a copy of the returned check), one sent me a screen shot of my account (and set a dispute flag on my credit report), the other was returned with a bad address.

I then tried Goodwill letters with two of the original creditors. Cox Communications denied the request and AEP Electric approved it, though they said it would take 60-90 days to get the record off my credit report.

The next month, I sent good will letters to the reporting collection agency. Mid Continential (Cox Communications) responded as if it was a dispute and referenced my last "Dispute". I have not heard back from Payalliance. I called both collecion agencies and made it as far as the Director of Collections. No go on a Good Will Removal.