Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Recovery Journey & Need Some Advice

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

My Recovery Journey & Need Some Advice

Small backstory on how my credit tanked: I was a student in the town in which I grew up, had some issues where we lost our family home and I was forced to relocate. Because of this, I lost my job & defaulted on some student loans and credit cards. I've gotten back on my feet in the last two years. All of my collections accounts are closed and I am working on removing the very last one from my credit report as we speak. Some are "closed/charge off," but I don't know if that makes any difference. What's done is done, right? 

Now, I'm sitting at a 611 credit score after being around 525 for the last few years. It was embarrassing that I couldn't even get a really low CLI just to try and scrape some credit points. Eventually, I opened a Discover Secured Card and it's probably my favorite card despite its lower $400 limit. I've had that card for about a year now. In the last few months, I've opened cards with Capital One (who was once a collector against me) and Credit One (I know they're awful, but they were the first to grant me a card without any security deposit. I don't use it. 

I was given my first credit raise with Capital One a few days ago and that's now a $600 card. In total, I have about $2,000 in credit card credit available to me and I've been an authorized user on a family member's American Express Platinum card for the last two years. I've been responsible about payments. If I don't pay my balances in full, I come **bleep** near close to it every month. I never make *just* a minimum payment.