Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NEED HELP WITH LVNV LLC

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

NEED HELP WITH LVNV LLC

Hello everyone this is my first time posting on myFICO so if this is on the wrong page I apologize. Here it goes....

LVNV LLC is reporting on my credit report for an old debt I had with Mervyns before they went bankrupt. I have sent DVs to the CRA 's and they have verified the account as being legitimate with LVNV. The problem I am having is that when I called Resurgent/LVNV to try and settle they said they no longer have my debt Northland Group has it now. However Northland group used to be on my credit report but when I disputed it they deleted it. **bleep**

My questions is this, I just want to settle the account and pay it, but I don't know who to pay since I have sent settlement offers to both LVNV and Northland and neither have responded. **bleep** How do I handle this? Please help!

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: NEED HELP WITH LVNV LLC

If debt collector 1 has informed you that they no longer own the debt, then they of course cannot accept payment.

If debt collector 2 previously deleted their prior reporting as a result of a dispute, then any reinsertion of their collection would have to follow the reinsertion provisions of FCRA 611(a)(5)(B).  Perhaps debt collector 2 does not want to or cannot provide the required certification to have it reinserted, so is simply not reporting.

However, that does not preclude them from conducting collection activities on the debt.

Apparently, debt collector 2 has not yet contacted you, so does not as of yet have a requirement to provide dunning notice.