cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Advice on the best way to rebuild my credit!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need Advice on the best way to rebuild my credit!

Hey, I am a noob who has been working on my credit since March with the goal of buying a house in 2 years.  Unfortunately, I have been out of the credit scene for several years so I am starting from scratch.  I currently have the following accounts:

Wells Fargo Auto Loan - $20k, 1 month old

Capital One Unsecured - $300 - 1 month old

DiscoverIt! Secured - $500 - 5 months old

I also have 2 previous closed/paid auto loans with many late payments, most 30 day but one 60 day, the most recent late payment was November 2016. 

I also have 7 collections accounts, one which will be removed by the creditor next month after paying it off, and 2 which I believe are being removed as a result of hiring Lexington Law (I no longer see them on my Experian or Transunion reports).  I am planning on keeping Lex as long as possible to try and get my late payments removed.

Finally, I have 8 inquiries, (across all 3 reports) all from June or July of this year, 5 from my auto loan (all within 30 days), one from Capital One, one from Discover and one from an ill-advised debt consolidation attempt but all they would approve me for is secured so I didnt go for it (I know, dumb on my part).

I'm also getting added as an authorized user to my sister's 10 year old high-limit card which reports AU's to all 3 bureaus, that should hit next month.

SO my question is - advice? I keep  my cards under 10% utilization and pay them off every month.  I am paying all my bills on time.  Should I get another card when my score goes up a little or just let everything marinate until I get the mortgage?  I just dont know if I have enough credit to get to my goal of 700 in 2 years.