cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need a 3rd Card for Rebuild - Which One?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need a 3rd Card for Rebuild - Which One?

Hey everyone,

I’m in the process of rebuilding and I’ve read everywhere that 3 cards would assist in the process. I currently have Disco Secured ($200), Citi Secured ($200), and AU on Disco Secured ($200). I currently have 5 baddies, 4 late payments, FICO currently EX 614, TU 598, EQ 573 thanks to those new cards.

I’ve read that people with similar scores as mine were able to get approved for the QS1 or CapOne Platinum. However, I have a baddie with PRA from CapOne back in 2012 for $387 so idk if they’ll have me.

Open to any suggestions. Thanks for the help.
Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Need a 3rd Card for Rebuild - Which One?

Im new to rebuilding so I'm no expert but I'm wondering what work you've done on the 5 baddies? That is where I would focus my attention. ☺
Message 2 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Great question. I started with 12 baddies actually when I started the rebuild (1/19/2018). So I disputed some and paid some. Now I’m down to my last 5, two of which are medical that will take care of themselves once paid off.
Message 3 of 13
kcos194
Regular Contributor

I apped for Cap One Platinum in September and was approved at $300 SL. At the time I had an account at PRA from them, plus 3 other collections that I just settled this past March. Even before I settled with PRA I got an increase in Februrary to $500. I actually had gone over my limit by $4 once, and carried a balance of like 200 something back in the fall accidentally. Since January, util has been below 10%, and just last week I got converted to a QS. Added my DW as an AU too. 

My scores now are similar to yours, so they were for sure worse when I apped. YMMV for sure, but it could definitely be worth the gamble. They do pull all 3 CRA's though, just as a heads up.