cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need advice! Convergent Debt Reporting while not original debt owners

Auto Loans for ANY Credit Situation. Immediate Response.
Advertiser disclosure
Highlighted

Need advice! Convergent Debt Reporting while not original debt owners

This is my first time posting here. I've been working really hard to repair my debt and get my credit score up. My goal is to refinance my student loans at an attractive rate, but this report put me 30 points in the wrong direction. I closed a Verizon bill and didn't realize their was money still owed on the account. I hadn't received anything from the company and all of the sudden I got a statement from Convergent and I hadn't had the chance to respond. I just got an alert of a new collections account reported to CRAs.

I called Verizon today to see if I could pay and if they'd pull the debt back (or even see if I could settle with them). The representative said she was able to take the payment over the phone and it would report as a zero balance, but there was no way to get the collections account off my report. Given that the option is still there to pay with Verizon should I even try to do DV and then a PFD? Or should I reach out directly to Convergent and see about a PFD? Has anyone else been in this situation before? Would really appreciate the advice!

Thanks!

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
New Contributor

Re: Need advice! Convergent Debt Reporting while not original debt owners

Hi tdouble07. I would pay Verizon directly. Then I would send the CRA a letter stating that you do not have a delinquent Verizon account, along with proof that your balance is $0 for the acct the Convergent is trying to collect on. I would request that their tradeline be removed immediately. If Verizon can send you something showing your balance is $0, this should be adequate for CRA to remove the collection account. It worked for me. Good luck.
Message 2 of 7
New Contributor