Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need advice on Rebuilding credit

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need advice on Rebuilding credit

Hello all, this is my first time using this forum. I have worked on clearing past debt and got my scores up to Exp-640 Equ-680 Trans 700. I have a short credit file and the following credit cards/limits
NFCU Rewards-500
Capital one-300
Walmart MC-300
Victoria’s Secret-350
Care Credit 2500
All my credit cards are pretty new- below 30 percent utilization. How do I get these cards to grow and get approved for better cards?? Please I need advice on my next step in rebuilding my credit! The only thing I have on my credit besides these credit cards are student loans which are 80k. I’m waiting until I get to my third nfcu statement and apply for my 2nd cc In hopes of getting a higher credit card and a CLI on my first. Please advise if this is ideal!!
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
AllZero
Mega Contributor

Re: Need advice on Rebuilding credit

Based on your starting limit with Navy, I would speculate 6 months wait time would improve your odds at a higher SL on the 2nd card. It'll build up more history with them.

You need time. Let your cards age.

Are you on credit steps with Capital One?
Message 2 of 9
chiefone4u
Established Contributor

Time.

From what you've shared in this post, time is what's needed most.

You can gain a few extra points by only allowing one account to report a balance (less than 8.9%).

I'm not sure how Capital One is going to dish out CLI's on the Walmart card, its been my experience that for their other cards they want lots of spend and regular large payments to offer a CLI.

Comenity requires 6 months before allowing a CLI on Victoria Secret cards (at least it used to).

CareCredit didn't budge for me (via online request) until it was 6 months old, others have called Credit Solutions same day of approval and received 20k CLI's. YMMV