Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help w/medical bill

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need help w/medical bill

I'm new to this so bear with me. 

I have one medical bill that went into collections.

$641 by Paragon Revenue.

It has already been verified.

Should I call the OC to pay and then ask for goodwill? OR

Should I call the CA and settled? How do I go about doing that? Should I send a letter? Will they just ignore me? Any advice? Thanks.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Need help w/medical bill

How old is the bill? And if it is in collections was it sold to them, or just given authorization to collect on the medical companies behalf?

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

The bill is about two or three months old.

I am not sure if It was sold or just given autorization. I've had other medical bills go into collections but when I've called the OC, they've told me I could pay them. These bills never went against my credit. This is the only one so far that has ever gone on my credit. :/

Message 3 of 8
Kree
Established Contributor

My understanding is that medical bills cannot be placed on your credit report until they are 180 days old (6 months).  And if you pay within the 180 day period, it cannot then be reported.

If your bill is only 2-3 months old, you should be able to get the reporting removed and then pay. Or perhaps get the debt waived in an agreement to not sue over wrongful reporting.  Others might weigh in.  As always discuss anything with an attorney before believing Kree.

Message 4 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Sorry, I misunderstood. Smiley Sad

The bill is over the 180 days. Since it was placed in collection, it's been 2-3 months. 

Message 5 of 8
Kree
Established Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Sorry, I misunderstood. Smiley Sad

The bill is over the 180 days. Since it was placed in collection, it's been 2-3 months.