Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Collections Account - Not Sure How to Proceed

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New Collections Account - Not Sure How to Proceed

Hello everyone, I've been browsing the forum for a few months as I've grown my credit profile, and this is my first post. Through the Capital One built-in credit score monitor, I've noticed that my score has hovered around the 740 mark for a few months now. I was surprised when I was denied an application for a credit card. They utilized Experian for the hard pull, and reported my score as 626. So, I pulled all three credit reports/scores, and found that there's a collection on my Experian report for $138. The collection lists March 2018 as the "date opened", and the original creditor was T-Mobile. I have not had T-Mobile service in at least 6 years, maybe longer. The other two scores are 740 (Equifax) and 729 (TU). No collections on either of those reports.

My best guess is that I need to call the collections agency and simply pay the debt. Of course I don't mind paying the money, but I wonder if anyone can advise me on what the credit implications will be. I've researched a bit online and learned that, even when I pay off the debt, it's likely to remain on my report for 7 years. I just don't understand how this debt (which has to be from at least 6 years ago, but I think it's more like 7 or even 8 years old) is listed as being opened in March 2018. I only vaguely remember not paying my last bill with T-Mobile.

Should I maybe dispute the collections account with Experian? I don't mean to be cheap, and I'm happy to pay the $138, I'm just concerned about what happens next. I'd like to resolve this soon, as my credit score only recently started to improve. Over the past two months, my available credit went from $5,000 (on two cards) to $45,000 (on four cards). I'd like to continue improving and building, and I hope to put this small collections account behind me.