Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Member with Concerns/Questions on Rapid Rescore and Debt Payoffs

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New Member with Concerns/Questions on Rapid Rescore and Debt Payoffs

Hello to all:

I am new - signed up 30 mins ago when I found out the reality of FICO vs. paid credit scores. Ugggh...Anyway, I was a career firefighter until injured in 2005. I was medically retired. Unfortunately, when I ended up in the hospital, my credit went belly up after four back surgeries and enormous medical bills - workers comp not involved. I recently pulled my paid credit file and set about paying off 3 State tax liens, a judgment on a furniture loan, and 24 medical bill collection accounts. In all, I spent 20K paying down ALL debts on my report. Whether this was a good thing or not, it's done now and can't go back. I'd rather pay what I owe anyway, even though late.

My score is now a dismal 539. Like most, I want to get a mortgage before the market recovers. I do maintain a 16% use balance on my credit card (secured card with $300 limit), have a current auto loan and several other "Paid as Agreed" old accounts and loans with no late payments.

My question is if I wait six weeks for all the dust to settle from paying off all the debts, will a rapid rescore help me? I believe my next step is to write to the big three agencies and let them know that all the debts are paid. Is there anything else I can do to "heal" my credit any quicker? Any help is appreciated. Thank yoU!

Hi IJsbrandtGA,

I didnt change any content, only spaced-out your post for easier reading.

Hope you dont mind.Lightnin, myFICO moderator

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
LIGHTNIN
Senior Contributor

Re: New Member with Concerns/Questions on Rapid Rescore and Debt Payoffs

FICO scoring sees a Paid collection the same as an UNpaid collection, no score change.

What will help......Send  G W letters to the CA's and ask if they will kindly remove it from your CR.