Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to MyFico, need help rebuilding/cleaning up wallet

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to MyFico, need help rebuilding/cleaning up wallet

Hi All,

I am brand new to MyFico, but have been working on my credit score for just over a year. Started with all 3 around 580-600. My rebuild started with a CreditOne card and CFNA Firestone (out of necessity) and then progressed to Discover IT secured last December. This July my scores were high enough to give some big boy cards a shot so I pulled the trigger and got AMEX Blue, AMEX Delta Gold, and a Barclays JetBlue. My issue is between January and getting the Amex I was desperate to increase my overall credit limits so I went out and got store cards and really anything that would approve me to show I had available credit. I got a CFNA Bosch, and a Walmart Card that I will never use. I have heard a lot of negative things about the CreditOne card so I wanted to see if maybe I should cut some of these out of my wallet. I have pretty much killed my AAoA already. Below is a summary of my wallet, oldest to newest:

Credit One - $550 CL - Opened Feb 2015 - No longer using

CFNA Firestone - $1200 CL - Opened June 2015 - Sock Drawered

Discover IT Secured - $200 CL - Opened December 2016 - Gardening, should graduate in a month or so

ExxonMobile - $500 CL - Opened May 2017 - Use for all fuel purchases

Walmart - $200 CL - Opened May 2017 - Never used/will not use

CFNA Bosch - $900 CL - Opened May 2017 - Never used/will not use

Barclays JetBlue - $1500 CL - opened June 2017 - Highest CL, use sparingly

AMEX Blue - $500 CL - Opened June 2017 - Rarely use

AMEX Delta Gold - $1,000 CL - Opened June 2017 - Use for most purchases

TL;DR - I have a lot of cards I am not using that I opened to increase my overall CL (see above). Should I close some?

Thanks for your help!

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
medicgrrl
Valued Contributor

Re: New to MyFico, need help rebuilding/cleaning up wallet