Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie here looking to rebuild

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Newbie here looking to rebuild

Hey Everyone!

I am a newbie here on the quest for a better credit score! In the past I made a few really dumb financial mistakes and I was on the verge of getting back on track until COVID-19 hit which affected my payment history due to income loss. Because of that I had 2 accounts go into collections which I paid and both were deleted (no score increase) and had 13 late payments as well as 3 maxed out cards. I was doing really well with keeping a minimum balance until COVID-19 forced me out of my bartending job and it affected the income of my day job (sales). On top of all that my daughters mom signed my daughter up for private preschool which on top of child support I was paying quite a bit for. I also have quite a few inquiries because I was shopping for consolidation loans in a panick to get all of my debt squared away. At the time I was around a 610 fico and on my way up where no I am at 545-585 depending on bureu.

I am currently making good money now and working on getting those balances paid down. 

The late payments were for, commedity bank (express card needed new clothes for my job), 2 first premier cards and a capital one platinum card. My first concern is inquiries and then the late payments but what are your suggestions for getting those removed or at least some of them.

I don't have any crazy goals to get to a 700 in 6 months mainly my goal now is to get it back to where it was because I am confident it will only go up from there.

Thank you!

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Sandman771
Valued Contributor

Re: Newbie here looking to rebuild

What you just posted minus the private school part would make a great template for goodwill letters to all those lenders. Maybe they would take care of the lates..never hurts to ask. 

Starting Score: EQ497/TU496/EX 499
Currently: EQ 620 TU 654 EX 627
in the garden since 6/16/2021