Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie here!!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Newbie here!!

Hello all! Over the past few months I have taken a serious approach to rebuilding my credit. Quickly, a brief background. In 2015 I got severely ill with thyroid cancer and lost my job. Medical bills piled up as well as others. I defaulted on a Walmart cc through Synchrony and I had numerous medical collections on my report.

My wife and I would like to buy a new house next year and I'm really pounding the pavement on trying to rebuild. I use credit karma and just purchased the FICO app and monthly subscription. I have 5 total credit cards. Target, Capital one quicksilver, Capital one Walmart, Amazon and Kohl's. All have a zero balance. I have a mortgage that has been late a lot! I bought my house in 2010 and when i got sick and had no income it killed me. Luckily, we didn't lose the house. I have a car payment that has been late. I've recently paid off a collection from midland credit for the Walmart card and I've paid off 7 medical collections from when I got sick. What else can I do to bump my score? Currently my FICO is 604 eq, 611 tu, 618exp..

Any suggestions would be helpful.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Newbie here!!

In order to truly help you it would advantageous for you to list out everything that's on your reports currently... accounts, status of accounts, lates, derogs, etc. Also, you mentioned wanting to purchase next year; when exactly are you looking to do this? 

Great job so far and I truly hope that your health has improved! Also, I'd post over on the mortgage forum if I were you; it's some real life super heroes over there! 🙃🙃

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit cards:

Amazon- good standing- 0 late

target- good standing- 1 late in 2017

walmart (capital one)- good standing- 0 late

kohls- good standing- 1 late 2018

capital one quicksilver- good standing-4 late, 2 2019, 2 2018

Mortgage: