Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Old Medical Bill in Collections - Credit Report Help

tag
barcann
New Visitor

Old Medical Bill in Collections - Credit Report Help

Hi! I'm a newbie to the forums. I got a call yesterday morning from a CA about an old medical bill from 2008 that I had no knowledge about. Apparently I paid the $20 copay, it was filed through insurance and only a portion of it was covered leaving me with $130. They sent it to a very old address, and it was returned.

The collections agency told me it had been reported to my credit back in 2009, but there has been nothing indicating that this was actually reported. I've since refinanced my house, bought a car, etc. with no issues on my credit report. I did a little bit of research and confirmed that the appointment did take place. I plan to call the insurance company today to confirm that the claim was actually filed and see why they only covered part of it. I have no idea if they will have records that old, but it's worth a shot.

I ended up paying the $130 to the CA yesterday, but have been worrying about it being reported to my credit ever since.

Also, would it be useful to contact the medical provider about reporting to the credit agency? It's an individual, self-employed therapist - not a big corporation. I'm not sure if he sold the debt to the CA or if he is just using him for collections. Does he have any power?

My biggest concern is that it is going to be reported to the CA. After doing more research, I read that paying the CA is a big no no, but it's already been done so I'm looking for advice after the fact. I've read a lot about the Hippa process and am wondering if I can use that? What's the process if the debt was NOT reported back in 2009 like she mentioned? Can they still report something if it's already been paid?