Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Old judgment came back to haunt me...

tag
hallas
Valued Member

Old judgment came back to haunt me...

Hi, all. 

I live in NC. When I was 18 years old, I was naive and financed a car through Ford Motor Credit. The car was repossessed a few months later and a judgment was issued against me in 2007. 

I recently financed a car (Sept 23rd, 2013). 

Now, an execution thing was served to my mother (well, return unserved because I no longer live there) for the judgment. My mother notified me of this. I immediately called them and tried to discuss how to settle with them. The original amount was $5700. It is now over $10grand. The creditor spoke to me with such condescension, even though I was trying to be respectful and ask her my options. Apparently, the only option I had was paying it off in full. I am a college student and make very little money (I am a tutor through my school which pays me $250 a semester, lol). My school covers (through federal financial aid) housing, school, and transportation costs. 

I gave them my correct address because I am not trying to run from them, however; I definitely do not have $10,000 in cash. She asked if I could borrow the money from someone or take out a personal loan to pay them back. I have a 620 credit score and was just in the process of rebuilding my credit. I told her that with my credit score, there was no way anyone would lend me that kind of money. She said she could submit a settlement offer for $5700, but it would have to be paid in a lump sum, again - I do not have that kind of cash.