cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Opened a secured card to rebuild - should I cancel it?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Opened a secured card to rebuild - should I cancel it?

I have been scouring this forum for several months and it has been so helpful. The last two years my scores were in the low - mid 500's. My negative accts started aging off my report over the past year. In August 2018 I opened a secured CapOne Platinum Card and received a CLI to $500 after 5 on-time payments. Two weeks ago my last bad cc aged off and my score jumped from 604 to 700. I started researching cards and checking pre-approvals. I was approved for the AMEX Cash Magnet with a $4k limit. I wanted to apply for another card so I have 3 reporting. And I wanted to do it before the AMEX starts reporting. I just applied for the Discover it Cash Back card and was approved for $12,500. I almost sh** my pants Smiley Surprised

My question is, now that I have the other two cards should I cancel the CapOne secured card? I'm not in a rush to get the deposit back. Just want to do what is best for my score. Do I let it age? Does closing an older card have more of a negative effect on my score than closing a younger card? And if I close it I will only have two cards reporting. I know I want at least 3 so they don't ding me. Do I wait until CapOne ages to one year, open a new card then close it?

Fico8 dropped to 696 after applying for the 2 cards. Per Experian I have:
$1200 balance Fed student loan - always paid on time
Private Student Loan w/late payments - Status listed as unknown Acct transferred to another office (New account isn't reporting). Will age off report in Jan 2020.
AAOA 11Y 1M
Oldest acct 17Y 2M
4 Inquiries

Thank you!

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
DIYcredit
Frequent Contributor

Re: Opened a secured card to rebuild - should I cancel it?