Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pay off or PFD? Need help!

tag
2FixMyCredit
Established Contributor

Pay off or PFD? Need help!

I am new to this so bear with me if I don't know the proper lingo LOL

I pulled my report on here with ScoreWatch and there are three items on it that are bad.

Two are collections for medical treatment at an ER, I have fought for three years to get these taken off because I have letters from the Hospital stating that "a charity discount has been applied to the account listed on this letter.  The account is now considered closed"  But they won't delete them.  Should I send a validation letter even though they are 3 years old? 

Also I have a loan from a credit union that I made one payment on, lost my job two months after taking it out, I made payment arrangements but they still reported it, which is understandable.  The loan is for $331, I can pay that now in full or over several months but I don't want it showing as bad on my credit report if I'm paying on it the simulator shows my score as going up if I pay it but I don't know how accurate it is.

What should I do?

Total CL: $40k+
Discover, BOA, GE, Cap 1, Chase, Barclay!
Gardening Start: 04/22/2013

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Re: Pay off or PFD? Need help!

Are the collections from the OC or a CA?  Are they reporting the full amount or what is left from the financial aid discount?

Paid or unpaid, a collection is still bad in FICO scoring.  Getting them removed woud prove more beneifical.

The loan is the same.  Paid or unpaid, it will still be a negative account.  You can try a PFD.  See if you pay will they delete.

Message 2 of 16
2FixMyCredit
Established Contributor

Hi!