Did you mean: 

Paying off old Charge Offs

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Paying off old Charge Offs

So, here's my dilemma...

Background:

My wife has a couple of old CO's on her CR.  They equal about $2500 together and are listed as falling off her CR's on 6/2013 and 11/2014.  In the USAA CreditCheck monitoring site they show as "Potentially Negative - Closed", which I assume means they aren't an active collection, but just listed as CO's.

Question:

Should I pay these off or not?  I've read that by doing so it can drop her score, which I don't want to do since I'm going to be shopping for a mortgage in the next few months.  I'm a disabled vet and get a VA home loan with 0 down and a minimum of a 640 credit score.  I was told that both her score and my score need to be at a 640 average or above.  I live in California, where it's a community property state and her debts are considered mine, but I don't have any car payments and make over $100K a year by myself, which is a Fed govt job, so I don't think I should have a problem qualifying for a loan.  I would rather use the 2.5K for negotiating PFD's with other baddies or paying off the two CC's that we have to bring the utilization % below 7%.

Thoughts?  Anyone got a VA home loan with unpaid CO's on their or their spouses CR?  Just curious where I should focus my money at.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
madmann26
Valued Contributor

Re: Paying off old Charge Offs

The CO is affecting your utilization. When you lower your utilization, you'll see a bump in score.

Current FICO 9 Scores

Message 2 of 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Paying off old Charge Offs