cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please advise! Pay Chargeoffs to raise score??

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Please advise! Pay Chargeoffs to raise score??

Hi everyone! First time poster here. I've spent the past couple of days reading over the many forum posts about my questions. I got a lot of good info, but still have questions. 

background:

working on repairing credit and raising score so I can buy a house. I have a monthly subscription with myFICO and based on their mortgage score simulator they recommend I pay off 2 charge offs. The accounts are reporting monthly and showing super high utilization's.

charge offs:

Discover Card - $2179

CW Nexus Credit Card - $1078

my questions:

1. do I pay the charge offs and try to negotiate a PFD? Based on what I've read I don't think Discover will do a PFD. 

2. How should I initiate the conversation? Should I call and then request letter with their agreement before

paying?

thanks in advance for any feedback! I really appreciate it!!

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
thornback
Senior Contributor

Re: Please advise! Pay Chargeoffs to raise score??

Hi and welcome to the forums!

PFD is meant for collection agencies, not for the original creditors as they are highly unlikely to agree to such an arrangement.  Have these debts been sent to a collection agency yet? If not, pay them - either in full or a negotiated settlement amount.  You can just call each creditor to discuss payment options. 

Once the accounts are paid, you can attempt a goodwill campaign to have the charge offs removed.  Discover isn't known to entertain goodwills- but you can try.  I dont know about the other lender you've listed.