Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Portfolio Recovery Assoc

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Portfolio Recovery Assoc

Good morning

Im very very new to this. I just received a call from this company saying that they were attempting to collect a debt. That I had been taken to court and a judgment was found. I don't know what court or what county. They didn't say. I told them I was unemployed and had no way of paying. They didn't want to hear it. Is there some way to check to see if there is indeed a judgment against me? And if so is there anything I can do to stop them from contacting the place where I am staying? A dear friend is helping me by letting me stay with them and I don't want them involved in any problems. HELP!

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
IOBA
Senior Contributor

Re: Portfolio Recovery Assoc

The company that called -

1.  Tell them to send you something in writing (they have to).  They should already have your mailing address.

2.  Get their mailing address and send them a cease and desist (telling them no more calling - regular mail only!)  Send it certified mail, return receipt.

3.  Tell them on the phone not to call you again (but get their contact information first).

Message 2 of 14
bahbahd
Established Contributor

Well, you could start with checking all the county courts for each of the addresses you have lived in the past.  Check your credit reports for any additional addresses they might have associated with you. Also check the credit reports to see if the judgments are appearing anywhere. https://www.annualcreditreport.com/ is the best place to get all three credit reports for free each year.

Message 3 of 14
bahbahd
Established Contributor

@IOBA wrote:

The company that called -

1.  Tell them to send you something in writing (they have to).  They should already have your mailing address.