Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Power of Attorney for family member

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Power of Attorney for family member

Hello all,

I am currently a Power of Attorney for my mother who is now on Medicaid and in a Nursing Home.  Before she went into the nursing home, she was going to an adult daycare facility which we paid from her checking account. The daycare facility increased their hourly rate by double but we had no choice but to have her go until we could get her into a nursing home. Long story short, she (we) fell behind on payment's to the daycare facility due to lack of funds. After placing my mother into the nursing home, the daycare account was turned over to collection's and reported as such on my credit report  even after we were making monthly payments. I'm not trying to avoid paying the balance but this collections has really hurt my scores...I was also told by the collections company that their computer system would not allow them to delete this from my credit report because I was a POA? Do I have a good case on removing this? Or will it stick with me for 7+ years?

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Duncanrr
Valued Contributor

Re: Power of Attorney for family member

Power of Attorney ("POA") doesnt make you legally responsible for the debts of the grantor.  All what POA does is allow you to act in "HER" behalf within in the scope of the POA (for example: you could have a medical POA that only allowed you to make medical decisions for her or you could have a broader POA that allowed you to conduct other business such as banking).  This has nothing to do with you personally.  The only way they can attribute personal liability to you is if your actions went beyond the scope of what what authorized in her POA, you didnt disclose to them that you held a POA for her, if you cosigned any of her obligations or if you acknowledged her debt as your own.  Sounds to me that the CA is full of crap.