Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question About Student Loans on my credit report

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Question About Student Loans on my credit report

Back in 2014 I went back to school (Everest University Online) to finish my associate degree.  By the time I was done, I had accumulated just over $20,000 in student loan debt across what looks to be 8 separate loans.  Unfortunately, I completed my degree 2 months before they closed, so I can't get the loans eliminated, so I have to pay them back.  At the moment, that's not a problem, but at that time we were having financial difficulties and they went into default and transferred from Fed Loan Servicing to the US Department of Education, both of which show up on my credit reports.  All 8 of them are listed twice.  It was absolutely destroying my credit score.  Over the last two years I have been diligently paying my bills on time, paying off everything I can, including an auto loan, and worked with the Department of Education to Rehabilite the loans.   I was able to get my scores from the 480's up to 620+.  A few days ago I noticed my Transunion score had dropped from 620 down to 603, so I started investigating.  The ONLY thing that was different on my report was that it was showing $20,000 in new debt.  The first thing I thought was identity theft, but after looking closer, my student loans showed up under Nelnet and being paid on time and current.  On March 10th, I hit the 9 month point on my student loan rehabilitation and they transferred it to Nelnet to continue servicing.  The records for the US Department of Education and their $20,000 are still showing up on my report and the $20,000 in loans for Nelnet are showing up as new debt.  Should I be able to get any of the old loans removed?  I know Student Loans on credit reports can be tricky.  How should I go about resolving it?  Do I need to contact the USDoE?  Or submit disputes?  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks!