Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question- My Rebuild Journey

tag
Shawn19AL
Frequent Contributor

Question- My Rebuild Journey

Hello, Im in the rebuilding stage.  Fairly new and this is my first post.

I lost ( severance) my job back in 2015 and found a job later in the year that was drastically lower in pay.  I had to let all of my credit cards go as a result.  I have about $9000 left in collections.  Total of 8-9 cards with Comenity. Porfolio recovery has them.

I've paid off two collections and will be paying 3 off in the next 4 months. The lowest amounts first. 

I started rebuilding in Nov 2018. My FICO 8 scores were 

Experian 525

Equifax 491

TransUnion 503

Today they updated and are currently

Experian 611

Equifax  628

TransUnion 619

I'm a Veteran so I bank with NFCU. I have a secured card ($1000)through them. I also just applied for DCU and have a creditbuilder loan for $500 with them. I have a Discover Chrome Secured Card $200. Jewelers Club $5000 ,  Fingerhut $300,  and 2 other cards that I dont use ( First Progress/ First Access ).

I'd like to break into the 640s before winter.  Should I pay the little collections first or 2 big ones? The little ones are under $500 a piece. The bigger ones are over $1000 each.

Message 1 of 42
41 REPLIES 41
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Question

have you contacted them with a PFD offer or request ? are you fluid enough to make those offers on the small collections ?

Message 2 of 42
Shawn19AL
Frequent Contributor

I can pay the small ones, one a month. The larger ones will take me 3 months to probably pay one.
Message 3 of 42
Anonymous
Not applicable

i would contact Porfolio by Email and snail with a PFD offer on the ones you can pay cash on,, dont hurt to try and the removals will have the biggest impact on your score.

Message 4 of 42
FireMedic1
Community Leader
Mega Contributor