Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions about Judgments in VA

tag
mrswannadoright
New Visitor

Questions about Judgments in VA

Hi all.  I'm new to the forum. I am new to the entire credit rebuilding situation but I'm here to work on it and get help.  I have a question.

In 2011  I moved out of my apartment without paying the last month's rent.  I never recieved notification from them regarding a judgment, however I knew I owed the funds, I just didn't have it.

Fast forward, I wanted to pay or settle the judgment but I don't know who to pay.  The apartment complex was sold in 2012.  I contacted the complex and they gave me the run around about who to pay.  I was told to contact the original owners, but they referred me to the atty that represented them.  The atty that represented them referred me to the new owner's lawyer.  I contacted them and was told they have no record of me.  I even gave them the court case info..nothing...so I gave up.

So here I am again.  I want to pay again.  However they complex was sold yet again.  I contacted the complex under it's new name and they refered me to the the lawyer that is supposed to own the debts.  I was told that I am not in the system.  I asked about the lawyer that represented the original creditor, I was told that he no longer works for the company and that I would need to try to contact the original creditor.  The attys's office gave me the original creditors information, while informing me that the original creditor is now a one woman show.  She no longer owns or manages properties.  I contacted her and I am currently waiting on a response.

My question is what can I do? If I pay it at the court it just says paid, it won't say satisfied I know I would need proof of satisfaction and the court won't sign off on that unless notified.  I'm not sure what's next.  Please help.  

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Re: Questions about Judgments in VA

Message 2 of 4
qd